Flying in Cochabamba

 

grafik_inca grafik_inca Until recently, when hearing the name Cochabamba ( Quechua: cocha = lake, bamba = plain, since the town is situated in the inaccessible mountaneous backcountry in the eastern range of the andes amidst a wide open area with several lakes) I always thought of Coca leaves and their derivatives. About 90 % of bolivian legal and illegal Coca cultivation takes place in Chapare, the warm surfaces at the closeby eastern slopes of the andes. Which makes the Region Cochabamba being a major trading place. Besides that however Cochabamba is the center of the bolivian paragliding sport. There are competitions held here, well trained local pilots live here and there are nicely maintained launching spots.

Best flying is at the southern slopes of the mountain range, that limits the wide valley to the north. The highest summit of this range is 5200 m high. The main launching point is near Huyllana at 3400 m, taking a left turn halfway on the road from Cochabamba to Sacaba uphill to the north. Landing in the valley at 2800 m.

 

 

Launch in the Cochabamba valley. To the right in the background the city. At the small oblong hill that is surrounded by the city local pilots flew as well. Apparently good thermals, but strictly forbidden because of the airport nearby.

 

View during the flight towards the east. Cochabamba is only the third biggest city in the country, but the fruitful valley around it forms the most densely settled department of Bolivia.

 

Plowing oxen from above. The campesino is on his way to his house for lunch time.

 

All Souls' Day altar in the Plaza de Armas, Cochabamba. During the protests in October 2003, which led to the president's abdication, more than 80 men, women and children died, when the army was given the order to shoot into the crowd.

 

 


----------------------------------------------- With a paraglider above the Inca roads -----------------------------------------------

Fliegen in Cochabamba

 

grafik_inca grafik_inca Beim Namen Cochabamba ( Quechua: cocha = See, bamba = Ebene, da es im unzugänglichen gebirgigen Hinterland im Osten der Hochebene in einer weiten freien Fläche mit Seen liegt) dachte ich bisher immer an Coca-Blätter und deren Derivate. 90 % des bolivianischen legalen und illegalen Coca-Anbaus geschieht in Chapare, den warmen Landflächen am nahen Ostabhang der Anden hier. Das macht die Region Cochabamba zu einem grossen Handelszentrum mit "Agrargütern". Zudem aber ist Cochabamba das Zentrum des bolivianischen Flugsports. Es gibt Wettkämpfe hier, gute lokale Piloten und schöne gepflegte Startplätze.
Geflogen wird an den Südhängen des den weiten Talkessel nach Norden hin abgrenzenden Gebirgszuges. Der höchste Gipfel dieser Bergkette ist 5200 m hoch. Der Startplatz liegt auf 3400 m bei Huyllana, auf halber Strecke der Strasse Cochabamba - Sacaba den Fahrweg nacht links bergauf gen Norden. Landung im Tal auf 2800 m.

 

 

Startplatz Cochabamba-Tal. Rechts im Hintergrund die Stadt. Von dem kleinen länglichen Hügel den die Stadt umgibt sind lokale Piloten ebenfalls geflogen. Gute Thermik, aber wegen des nahen Flughafens verboten.

 

Blick im Flug gen Osten. Cochabamba ist zwar nur die drittgrösste Stadt im Lande, aber das fruchtbare Tal drum herum bildet das am dichtesten besiedelte Department Boliviens.

 

Ochsenpflug von oben. Der Campesino geht grad ins Haus zur Mittagspause.

 

Allerseelen-Altar im Plaza de Armas, Cochabamba. Bei den Protesten im Oktober 2003, die zum Präsidentensturz führten, starben mehr als 80 Männer, Frauen und Kinder, als dem Militär der Befehl zum Schiessen in die Menge gegeben wurde.

 

----------------------------------------------- Mit dem Gleitschirm über den Inka-Straßen -----------------------------------------------