The Inkatrail with paraglider

 

grafik_inca grafik_inca The ancient roads of the Inkas in Ecuador are conserved only at very few places. The main road through the high plain got completely erased/replaced by the Panamericana. Near Cuenca, the third largest city in the country, there is however a small remote piece left. This ecuadorian Inka Trail connects Achupallas with the largest conserved Inca structure of Ecuador: Incapirca.

Many hikers walk along here every year, but I am probably the first gumby that besides tent and stove also carries along his entire paragliding equipment. I foresaw three launch possibilities when studying the maps for my project to fly the old Inka roads. Although the trek is well known and has been described quite often in books it became a lonely trip in a deserted landscape.

 

 

Looking back at the first pass down to the region of Achupallas at 3500 m, where the march began. So far no flights possible. This by the way is exactly the spot where Rob Rachowiecky tells you to squeeze yourself through a small tunnel in the rocks. Of course there is a much easier way around, where you can keep your backpack shouldered, but then you miss the best part of this days walk...

 

First launching possibility: The way goes along the flat valley slowly upwards up to the south. With sufficient wind from the east one should be able to stay dynamically at the right slope and soar the way up. The wind direction is swell, but its strength too irregular it does not carry well enough considering the small elevation difference of 200 m from the ridge to the bottom.

 

At the end of a long day the Laguna tres cruces at 4250 m.

 

After the second pass the next morning finally a launching possibility at the summit of the Quillaloma with view to the destination Laguna Culebrilla (small snake). The name Quillaloma means either moon summit or lazy summit, since the word quilla can mean both in Quetchua. Both makes sense, since coming from the north you have to ascend only thirty meters, in order to reach the summit overlooking the valley. Height difference to the tallow approximately 500 m.

Weather splendid but 35 km/h tail wind. I try several different launching possibilities, in order to take off in opposite direction against the wind and then fly around the mountain downwards. These are my first false starts in this far away country and then even seven of them some more gentle some rougher. It lasts the whole day and at the end triumphs first the darkness and I spend the cold night on the summit at 4400 m. Then the next morning sense and sensibility overcome myself and I descend heavy_hearted, heavy_laden by foot.

 

On the way down some of the traditional indigeneous ichu weed huts, huts which during a flight I certainly never ever would have seen, they would have remained unknown to my eyes forever...

 

Already three days without flight, but we are still at 3800 m and Incapirca lies far below in the valley...

 

Big birds on their way down. They can do it, why, oh why can't I...

 

Completely down by foot to the holy grail. The hill in the background, which leads to the high plain where I come from would have been the last flying possibility, but the wind in the plain and the violent tree movements in the most different directions down in the valley which is covered by various high voltage transmission lines tells even the upperclass twit of the year that there are more turbulences in the air here than health could afford.

Right above the small wall my friend and calamity, the wing of liberty squeezed into the grey-green Alpamayo backpack.

The first drag-along-your-paraglider of the Inkatrail is completed.

 

 

----------------------------------------------- With a paraglider above the Inca roads -----------------------------------------------

Inkatrail mit Gleitschirm

 

grafik_inca grafik_inca Die Straßen der Inkas sind in Ecuador, im Gegensatz zu Peru, nur noch an äusserst wenigen Stellen erhalten, da die Hauptstraße durch die Hochebene komplett durch die Panamericana verbaut wurde. Erhalten blieb ein kleines Stück in der Nähe von Cuenca, der drittgrössten Stadt des Landes. Der Inka-Trail Ecuadors verbindet Achupallas mit dem größten erhaltenen ecuadorianischen Inka-Bauwerk: Incapirca.

Viele Trekker wandern jedes Jahr hier lang, aber wahrscheinlich bin ich der erste Meistersinger der neben Zelt und Kocher auch seine gesamte Gleitschirmausrüstung mitschleppt. Drei Startmöglichkeiten hatte ich mir entlang des Weges ausersehen, um meinem Projekt, Inkastrassen abzufliegen, Genüge zu tun. Obgleich der Weg so bekannt ist und in Büchern oft beschrieben wurde, wird es eine mehrtägige menschenleere Reise.

 

 

Blick zurück vom ersten Pass auf die Gegend von Achupallas auf 3500 m, wo der Marsch begann. Bisher keine Flugmöglichkeit.

 

Erste Startmöglichkeit: Der Weg geht flach das Tal hinauf nach Süden, bei Ostwind sollte man dynamisch am rechten Hang den Weg hinaufsegeln können. Die Windrichtung ist gut, aber seine Stärke zu unregelmässig, trägt nicht gut genug bei der kleinen Höhendifferenz von 200 m zum Talgrund.

 

Am Ende des langen Tages die Laguna tres cruces auf 4250 m.

 

Nach dem zweiten Pass am nächsten Morgen endlich ein Startplatz am Gipfel des Quillaloma mit Blick auf die Laguna Culebrilla (Schlängelchen). Der Name Quillaloma bedeutet entweder Mondgipfel oder Faulenzergipfel, da das Wort quilla in Quetchua beides bedeuten kann. Beides macht Sinn, da man von Norden her wirklich nur dreissig Meter aufsteigen muss, um auf diesen das Tal überblickenden Gipfel zu gelangen. Höhenunterschied zum Talgrund 500 m also beste Flug-Voraussetzungen.

Wetter ist ok, aber 35 km/h Rückenwind. Ich probiere unterschiedlichste Startmöglichkeiten, um in Gegenrichtung anzufliegen und dann um den Berg herum zu gelangen. Es werden meine ersten Fehlstarts in diesem fernen Land und dann deren gleich sieben Stück, sanftere und unsanftere. Es währt den ganzen Tag. Am Ende siegt zunächst die Dunkelheit und ich verbringe die kalte Nacht auf dem Gipfel auf 4400 m. Dann am nächsten Morgen ereilt mich doch die Vernunft und ich steige schweren Herzens und schweren Gepäcks zu Fuss ab.

 

Auf dem Weg hinab, einige der traditionellen Ichugras-Hütten der Indios, Hütten die ich während eines Fluges ganz gewiss nie, niemals gesehen hätte, sie wären mir auf immer verborgen geblieben...

 

Schon drei Tage ohne Flug, aber wir sind ja noch auf 3800 m und Incapirca liegt weit unten im Tal ...

 

Big birds auf dem Weg hinab, sie können es, warum nicht also auch ich...

 

Gänzlich zu Fuss hinunter, bis zur Kultstätte, der Hügel im Hintergrund, der zur Hochebene führt, wäre die letzte Flugmöglichkeit gewesen, aber der Wind auf der Ebene und die heftigen Baumbewegungen in die verschiedensten Richtungen im Tal unten bei diversen Hochspannungsleitungen verraten auch eingefleischten Blindflüglern, dass es hier mehr Turbulenzen in der Luft gibt, als gesund wäre.

Rechts unten über der kleinen Mauer, mein Freund und Verhängnis, der Flügel der Freiheit eingepresst in den grau-grünen Alpamayo-Rucksack.

Die erste Gleitschirmbeschleppung des Inkatrails ist vollendet.

 

 

----------------------------------------------- Mit dem Gleitschirm über den Inka-Straßen -----------------------------------------------