Flights in the Santa valley

 

grafik_chavin The valley of the Río Santa is famous for its old indigenous cultures (Recuay) as well as the snow capped giants of the adjacent Cordillera Blanca. To the east and the west of this famous mountain range two branches of the old Inka road lead upwards the valley of the Santa and the Mosna river. Both were connected by a road over a pass at Chavin.

Although in contrast to previous years, flights are rather rare in the Santa valley today, there have been many peruvian pilots and many pilots from Europe, like Manuel Ponte, Eugen Stibritz, Franz Schilter, Peter Rummel that left their traces here.
Best local address I know: Beto Sotelo in Huaraz monttrek@terra.com.pe.

grafik_chavin

My favourite village in the Santa valley was Caraz. Pretty, small, very friendly people, la Suiza peruana and still much Indio tradition. From here there are many easily reached launching areas. Three of them:

 

1) Cerro pan de Azucar (strictly speaking its higher neighbour) 3040 m near Yungay at the foot of the Cordillera Blanca. By bus to the gas station San Antonio, from there 1 1/2 hours by foot, there is also a drive way at its rear side. The launching area is not maintained anymore, i.e. is covered with thorny plants, which you may have to clean up before. Early thermals of southeast start about nine o'clock and can be used for the launch in direction of Yungay. The main thermals appear usually after ten from the northwest, a mixture of the valley wind and the suction of the snow giants of the Cordillera Blanca. Landing on one of the fields close of the road near Yungay at 2400 m.

2) Yanairca or Yanaicu, a foothill of the Cordillera Negra near the village Pueblo Libre/Caraz. Regular bus from Caraz to Pueblo Libre, from there 2 hours by foot (sometimes buses go higher up the Cordillera to a pass). Ascent very thorny, but above there are many cultivated fields, unused ones make pleasant launching spots at 3250 m. The first rocky elevation has a big cross at its top.

3) Chakaypunta or Huinchus, a pass with a hill suitable for launching near a field of Puya Raimondi - plants at the ridge of the Cordillera Negra near Caraz. Twice a day a bus leaves Caraz for Pamparomas stopping at the pass, from there a couple of meters by foot to a hill of 4400 m. Launching before eleven a.m., after noon the seawind and the thermal suction of the Cordillera Blanca blow over the ridge from the west, downward to the valley. Often I preferred to stay up at the summit overnight to watch the clouds and the wheather and contemplate the beautiful evening panorama of the Cordillera Blanca.

grafik_chavin

Launching time at all three places usually between ten and twelve o'clock. Cross flights to Huaraz (30 km) have been done, I tried to, but always either lost the thermals or couldn't cope with them at some point. After eleven strong valley wind sets in, which reaches regularly 30 km/h and more. Therefore you need sufficient free space at the landing area, in order to avoid turbulences by obstacles at ground level.

 

 

Evening panorama of the Cordillera Blanca at the sleeping place at Chakaypunta in the summit ridge of the Cordillera Negra at 4400 m.

The most prominent peaks of the Cordillera Blanca show their faces: A little bit left from the center, the pyramid of the Nevado Sta. Cruz (6259 m, hiding the smaller peak of the famous Alpamayo), a little to the right of the center, the steep peaks of the Nevado Huyandoy (6350 m) and further to the right the big double block of the gigantic Huascaran (6770 m).
Night temperature end of september -6 degrees.

 

Beautiful but stingy affairs in my bedroom.

 

 

Launch at Chakaypunta in the morning.

Some steps below to the right you see one of the many Puya Raimondi here, named after the important geographer Antonio Raimondi, a bromeliad flower of five to twelve meters height, therewith the largest bloom of the world, blossoming only once at the end of its 24 year-long life.

 

View the valley upward. Exactly in the center of the picture somewhat foggy in the background, a small, extremely regular cone: the pan de Azucar. To its left, 200 meters higher the hill for the launch. At the right, the large foothill of the Cordillera Negra, the Yanairca, another launching possibility.

 

Again a summit panorama this time during the flight. To the left the Huandoy (6350 m), to the right between the lines, the Huascaran, with 6770 m the highest mountain of Peru. Thermals are strong and demanding.

 

Flight over Caraz, landing in the stadion.

 

Ending of another flight: Pueblo Libre international air port. You never walk alone.

 

Cross-flight direction Huaraz, if you don't succeed, lot's of landing spots available...

 

Caraz

grafik_chavin From the diary;
"After a flight I return to my home, with a Quetchua booklet under my arm and find a dying old woman on my door step in the inner court of the hostel. Why of all places just there? What is she doing there? What to do? Hop over her, slam my door, jump into bed and chew my chocolate? Around her five poor looking Quetchua speaking campesinos. My awkward questions, whether I can help, remain unanswered, I often saw that campesinos far from their home are quite shy. They hardly seem to understand spanish. My Quetchua stammering doesn't seem to help either. Everyone looks in silence onto the dying grandma, wrapped in covers. Waiting for death. "the most patient people in the world" (Enrique Lopez Albujar). Finally a sixth one arrives, more talkative, speaks Spanish. He got some informations from the hospital. They know her already. An operation is not possible any more, a large tumor in the abdomen, but she can stay there for her last days. Together we carry her to a taxi, I pay the ride to the hospital. Then I remain alone with my ugly thoughts "problem solved, got off cheap".

Even in poverty one can live well in this country, but never ever become ill, no, you must not become ill as a poor person ...

And my own role in all this? Admire the fancyful indigeneous dresses and sneak away, as soon as real problems arise?

A little later I meet a Peruvian friend in a restaurant. His daughter appears with a math book under her arm, and late into the night we grind exes and whys. Even by my occasional anger she cannot be driven out of her merry mood and laughter and she learns very fast a lot of math ... thus thoughts lighten up again..."

 

The journey continued with the Crossing of the Cordillera Blanca, flying to the temple of Chavin.

 

----------------------------------------------- With a paraglider above the Inca roads -----------------------------------------------

Flüge im Santa-Tal

 

grafik_chavin Das Tal des Flusses Santa in der Region Ancash ist berühmt für die alten Recuay-Kulturen (50 v.Chr.-450 n.Chr.) und mehr noch für die angrenzenden Schneeriesen der Cordillera Blanca. Östlich und westlich dieses Gebirgszuges zog je ein Arm der alten Inkastraße. entlang, das Santa-Tal und das Mosna-Tal hinauf. Beide waren verbunden durch eine Querstraße über einen Pass bei Chavin, der ältesten Kultur dieser Region.

Obwohl im Gegensatz zu früheren Jahren Flüge im Tal des Río Santa heute eher selten sind, haben doch viele peruanische Piloten und viele Flieger aus Europa wie Manu Ponte, Eugen Stiebritz, Franz Schilter, Peter Rummel hier ihre Spuren hinterlassen. Beste Adresse vor Ort die ich kenne: Beto Sotelo in Huaraz (monttrek@terra.com.pe). monttrek@terra.com.pe.

grafik_chavin

Mein Lieblings-Dorf im Santatal war Caraz. Schön klein, sehr freundliche Leute, la Suiza peruana und noch viel Indio-Tradition. Von hier aus gibt es einige leicht erreichbare Startplätze. Drei davon:

1) Cerro Pan de Azucar (genaugenommen der höhere Nachbarhügel davon) 3040 m bei Yungay am Fuss der Cordillera Blanca. Per Bus zur Tankstelle San Antonio, von dort 1.5 Stunden zu Fuß, gibt auch einen Fahrweg hintenherum. Der Startplatz wird nicht gepflegt, d.h. ist mit Stachelgewächsen übersät, die man eventuell vorher entfernen muss. Eine frühe Thermik von Südost setzt gegen neun Uhr ein, kann zum Start Richtung Yungay verwendet werden. Die Hauptthermik kommt gegen zehn von Nordwest, eine Mischung aus dem einsetzenden Talwind und dem Sog der Schneeriesen der Cordillera Blanca. Landung auf einem der Felder nahe der Strasse bei Yungay bei ca 2400 m.

2) Yanairca oder Yanaicu, ein hügeliger Ausläufer der Cordillera Negra beim Dorf Pueblo Libre/Caraz. Regelmässiger Bus ab Caraz nach Pueblo Libre, von dort 2 Stunden zu Fuss auf 3250 m (es gibt auch vereinzelte Busse die weiter hoch, über einen Pass fahren). Aufstieg zwar sehr stachelig, aber oben gibt es viele bearbeitete Felder, es sollte immer ein freies, angenehm zum Starten zu finden sein. Der erste Felsvorsprung hat ein Kreuz.

3) Chakaypunta oder Huinchus, ein Pass mit Starthügel bei einem Feld von Puya Raimondi- Pflanzen am Gipfelkamm der Cordillera Negra in der Nähe von Caraz. Zweimal am Tag Bus Richtung Pamparomas zum Pass, von dort ein paar Meter zu Fuss auf einen Hügel von 4400 m, Nach elf Uhr setzen Seewind vom nahen Ozean und der thermische Sog der Cordillera Blanca ein, die über den Gipfelkamm der Cordillera Negra hinweg der Osthang-Thermik entgegen talabwärts blasen, zu spät zum Start. Ich übernachtete öfters oben, was einem ein schönes abentliches Gipfelpanorama der Cordillera Blanca beschert.

grafik_chavin

Startzeit an allen drei Orten morgens zwischen zehn und elf Uhr. Streckenflüge nach Huaraz (30 km) wurden gemacht, ich versuchte es einige Male, verlor aber entweder thermisch den Anschluss oder konnte umgekehrt mit den brachialen Aufwinden an manchen Stellen nicht mehr umgehen. Ab elf setzt ein immer stärker werdender Talwind ein, der regelmässig 30 km/h und mehr erreicht. Man braucht also genügend freien Platz zum Landen, um Turbulenzen durch Hindernisse in Bodennähe zu vermeiden.

 

 

Abendpanorama der Cordillera Blanca am Schlafplatz bei Chakaypunta am Gipfelkamm der Cordillera Negra auf 4400 m.

Die prominentesten Gipfel der Cordillera Blanca zeigen sich: Leicht links der Mitte die Pyramide des Nevado Sta. Cruz (6259 m, die den berühmten, kleineren Alpamayo verdeckt), ein wenig rechts der Bildmitte, die Spitzen des Nevado Huyandoy (6350 m) und noch weiter rechts, der riesige Doppelgipfel des Huascaran (6770 m).
Nachttemperatur Ende September -6 Grad.

 

Schöne, stachelige Angelegenheiten in meinem Schlafzimmer am Startplatz von Chakaypunta auf 4400 m.

 

Schlaf- und Startplatz bei Chakaypunta am Morgen. Rechts unten eine der vielen Puya Raimondi hier, benannt nach dem Geographen Antonio Raimondi, mit fünf bis zwölf Meter Höhe die größte Blüte der Welt. Sie blüht nur einmal und nie wieder am Ende ihres 24 Jahre währenden Lebens.

 

Blick talaufwärts. Genau in der Bildmitte, etwas vernebelt im Hintergrund, ein kleiner, äusserst regelmässiger Kegel: der Pan de Azucar, der 200 Meter höhere Hügel links davon, also die vorderste Erhebung rechts von der gelben Beschleunigerleine von mir ist der Startplatz. Rechts gegenüber auf der anderen Talseite, der Ausläufer der Cordillera Negra ist der Yanairca, eine weitere Startmöglichkeit.

 

Gipfelpanorama beim Flug Links der Huandoy (6350 m) rechts hinter den Leinen der Huascaran, mit 6770 m der höchste Berg Perus.

 

Flug über Caraz, Landung im Stadion.

 

Eines anderen Fluges Ende: Pueblo Libre International Airport. You never walk alone.

 

Versuchter Streckenflug Richtung Huaraz, Zwischenlandemöglichkeiten gibt es genug...

 

Caraz

grafik_chavin Aus dem Tagebuch;
"Nach einem Flug, wohlbehalten heimkehrend, mit einem Quetchua Büchlein unter dem Arm, finde ich eine sterbende alte Frau auf meiner Türschwelle, im Innenhof der Hostel. Warum gerade dort? Was tun? Drüberhüpfen, Türzuschlagen und im Bett Schokolade essen? Drum herum fünf arm aussehende Quetchua sprechende Campesinos. Auf meine unbeholfenen Fragen, ob ich helfen könne, nur ausweichende Blicke. Campesinos sind fern von ihrem Herd meist nicht sehr zugänglich. Sie scheinen spanisch kaum zu verstehen. Mein Quetchua-Gestammel hilft nicht viel, sie schauen nur stumm auf die in Decken gehüllte Sterbende. Warten auf den Tod. "Das geduldigste Volk der Welt" (Enrique Lopez Albujar) Endlich taucht ein sechster auf, etwas offener, spricht spanisch und auch vor allem mit mir. Er hat gerade im Hospital Auskunft geholt. Dort kennen sie den Fall bereits. Eine Operation kommt nicht mehr in Frage, großer Tumor im Unterleib, aber sie kann ihre letzten Tage dort bleiben. Wir tragen sie alle zusammen in der Decke zu einem Taxi und ich bezahle die Fähre zum Hospital. Dann bleibe ich mit meinen hässlichen Gedanken zurück "Problem gelöst, billig davongekommen".

Man kann auch in Armut gut leben in diesem Land, aber krank, nein, krank darf man als Armer nicht werden...

Und was ist meine Rolle hier? Die bunten Trachten der Indios bewundern und mich davonstehlen, sobald die ersten wirklichen Probleme auftauchen?

Wenig später treffe ich in einem Restaurant einen peruanischen Freund. Sein Töchterlein erscheint mit einem Mathebuch unterm Arm, und wir pauken bis spät in die Nacht ickse und ypsilons. Sie lässt sich auch durch meinen gelegentlichen Ärger ihr Lachen nicht vertreiben und lernt sehr schnell sehr viel Mathe ... damit werden die Gedanken wieder lichter."

 

Weiter ging es mit der Querung der Cordillera Blanca, mit Flug zum Tempel von Chavin.

 

-----------------------------------------------Mit dem Gleitschirm über den Inka-Straßen-----------------------------------------------